Entry: ABANDON Interactive Film

Entry: ABANDON Interactive Film

This entry represents an experiment in crossing film and interactive video game.

What you see is a short make-shift documentation video of a semester project prototype. The challenge was to cross elements of film, animation and interactive media. The solution suggested here was a combination of camera- and A.I.-processes that give the scene a life on their own, until the player decides to step in. So it serves both, the need to observe casually, and the need to guide things according to our interest, as soon as we’re invested.

The world in this game is supposed to be a huge labyrinth (a Megastructure) and the implied quest is to escape it. The idea inspired by the manga BLAME! by Tsutomu Nihei.

, screenshot of the starting sequence in the AI-driven game prototype
screenshot of the starting sequence in the AI-driven game prototype

prototype developed with Unity3d, scripting in c#
modeling in 3Ds max
sounds and textures can be found at freesound.org and cgtextures.com, respectively

The character model, its base textures, the locomotion system and animations, as well as some camera and utility scripts came with the ‘Locomotion System’, copyright (c) 2008, Rune Skovbo Johansen & Unity Technologies ApS. I modified scripts and textures within the terms of the Tutorial Assets License Agreement.

category: ABANDON

jump to entries

ABANDON is a world-building project, a game concept, an idea for a novel, an art exhibition concept … a long story. A pet-project of mine since 2011, it is where I funnel those creative energies that keep me awake at night. It used to borrow from Tsutomu Niheis BLAME!, but it has outgrown that phase.

I’m now writing the story for a web-based graphic novel with the working title „7 Stories of ABANDON“, short 7SA.

contact

Am schnellsten erreichen Sie mich telefonisch, oder mit einer Nachricht an . Dazu dürfen Sie auch gern das folgende Formular nutzen. Desweiteren sind hier meine sozialen Netzwerke gelistet.

contact form

Eintrag: ABANDON Interaktiver Film

Eintrag: ABANDON Interaktiver Film

Dieses Projekt stellt den Versuch dar, Film und Video-Spiel zu kreuzen.

Das Video ist eine kurze zusammengeschusterte Doku einer Semester-Arbeit. Die Herausforderung bestand darin, Film, Animation und Interaktive Medien zu vereinen. Die hier angedeutete Lösung war eine Kombination von Kamera- und K.I.-Skripten, die der Szene ihr eigenes Leben einhauchen, bis der Spieler sich entscheidet teilzunehmen. Solchermaßen dient es sowohl dem Bedürfnis, zwanglos zuzusehen, als auch dem Verlangen, das was uns interessiert zu steuern, sobald wir das möchten.

Die Spielwelt ist ein riesiges Labyrinth (eine Megastructure) und die implizierte Quest ist, diesem zu entfliehen. Die Idee ist inspiriert von dem japanischen Manga BLAME! von Tsutomu Nihei.

, Screenshot der Startsequenz des AI-getriebenen Spiel-Prototypen
Screenshot der Startsequenz des AI-getriebenen Spiel-Prototypen

Prototyp entwickelt mit Unity3d, Scripting in C#
Modellierung in 3Ds max
Sounds und Textures können respektive auf freesound.org und cgtextures.com gefunden werden

The character model, its base textures, the locomotion system and animations, as well as some camera and utility scripts came with the 'Locomotion System', copyright (c) 2008, Rune Skovbo Johansen & Unity Technologies ApS. I modified scripts and textures within the terms of the Tutorial Assets License Agreement.

Kategorie: ABANDON

zu den Einträgen springen

ABANDON ist ein Weltenbau-Projekt, ein Videospiel-Konzept, eine Romanidee, ein Ausstellungskonzept ... eine lange Geschichte. Bereits seit 2011 ist es mein Lieblingsprojekt, wenn es darum geht, die kreativen Energien schlafloser Nächte loszuwerden. Zu Beginn gab es Anleihen an Tsutomu Niheis BLAME!, doch dieser Phase ist es entwachsen.

Aktuell schreibe ich die Geschichte für ein web-basiertes Graphic Novel mit dem Arbeitstitel „7 Stories of ABANDON“, kurz 7SA.

Kontakt

Am schnellsten erreichen Sie mich telefonisch, oder mit einer Nachricht an . Dazu dürfen Sie auch gern das folgende Formular nutzen. Desweiteren sind hier meine sozialen Netzwerke gelistet.

Kontaktformular